LUTHER DEBERRY AWARD

Reagan Houston, III, of San Antonio, Texas, has provided funds for an endowment to establish the Luther DeBerry Award for outstanding contribution to transportation in the State of Texas. In accordance with Mr. Houston's wishes, the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, a part of the Texas A&M University System, has assumed responsibility for holding the endowment in trust, making the final selection of award winners and presenting the awards at the Annual TxDOT Transportation Short Course or another appropriate occasion.

For the first four years of its existence, starting with calendar year 1981, the Award recipient shall be selected from nominees from the Texas Department of Transportation only; thereafter, nominations will be allowed from all transportation related agencies in the State of Texas, including Texas A&M Transportation Institute and the Center for Transportation Research. After the first four years, each transportation agency of the state of Texas may submit nominations for the award in a manner to be prescribed by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The following procedures are established for the awards and the selection of award winners.

- 1. The award will be created, to be known as the Luther DeBerry Award. The award is to be granted for outstanding contribution to the State of Texas in the field of transportation.
- 2. The award will consist of \$1,000 in cash and an appropriate plaque.
- 3. The Award Selection Committee will consist of three persons appointed by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, no more than one of whom shall be a member of the University System staff with the other two being prominent citizens of Texas having no official connection with a transportation agency of the State of Texas or the Texas A&M University System. The Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute will designate the chairman.

Appointments will be continuous subject to the wishes of the individuals concerned and the Institute.

- 4. Subject to the availability of funds from the Reagan Houston endowment, the award will be made annually at the TxDOT Transportation Short Course unless, in the future, the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute determines another occasion to be more suitable.
- 5. For the first four years of its existence, starting with the calendar year 1981, the Award recipient shall be selected from nominees from the Texas Department of Transportation; thereafter, nominations will be allowed from all transportation related agencies in the State of Texas, including Texas A&M Transportation Institute and Center for Transportation Research. The Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute shall, approximately six months in advance, advise the appropriate agencies of the procedure for making nominations.
- 6. The Executive Director of the Texas Department of Transportation shall for the first four years submit three nominees for the award. After the first four years he and the executive heads of the other state transportation agencies will each be requested annually to submit no more than two nominees for the award.

Luther DeBerry Award (continued)

The names, citations and a picture of each nominee shall be forwarded to the Award Selection Committee by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute approximately three months prior to the date of the Award. Neither the Executive Director of the Texas Department of Transportation nor any other agency head is obligated to make nominations, if in his opinion, there are no eligible persons with significant contributions. In like manner, the Award Selection Committee is not obligated to select an Award recipient if, in their opinion, a suitable candidate is not available.

- 7. The primary basis for selection of Award winners is the contribution which the individual has made to the development of transportation in Texas.
- 8. The design of the plaque will be mutually agreed on by Mr. Houston and the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The names of the Award winners will be displayed in the Texas A&M Transportation Institute at College Station, Texas.

TxDOT TRANSPORTATION SHORT COURSE AWARDS

These awards are presented annually at the TxDOT Transportation Short Course.

LUTHER DEBERRY AWARD

Established Endowment in 1980

Recipient received \$1,000 check and plaque

Administered by TTI (TAMU System) through TTI Business Office

Carries signatures of Award Committee Chairman and TAMU's Chancellor

Nominations:

♦ Call for nominations distributed by Director, TTI to all transportation-related agencies in the State of Texas to include:

Texas Department of Transportation
The Texas A&M Transportation Institute
Center for Transportation Research - University of Texas
Transportation Division - Texas Railroad Commission
Texas Department of Public Safety

♦ Names of candidates sent from Director of TTI to Award Selection Committee

Criteria for nomination:

"Outstanding contributions to transportation in the State of Texas"

Eligible for Nomination:

An individual from any of the five agencies listed above.

Recipients of TxDOT Transportation Short Course LUTHER DEBERRY AWARD

1981

Montie G. Wade Atlanta District (19)

1982

Richard J. Kabat Houston District (12)

1983

Otis H. Jones Abilene District (8)

1984

James W. Barr Highway Design Division D-8, Austin

1985

Raymond E. Stotzer, Jr. San Antonio District (15)

1986

Leo E. Gossett Texas Department of Public Safety, Austin

1987

Franklin C. Young Beaumont District (20)

1988

C.J. "Jack" Keese Texas A&M Transportation Institute College Station

1989

Milton M. Dietert Houston District (12)

1990

John V. Blain, Jr. Dallas District (18)

1991

John Kelly, P.E. San Antonio

1992

Judy Skeen, P.E. Information Systems Division

1993

Chris Olavson

1994

Gary Taylor, P.E.

1995

Hayes E. Ross, Jr.

1996

Bill Hale, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

1997

James Randall, P.E. MMO

1998

Claud P. (Buz) Elsom, III, P.E. Dallas District

1999

David McEathron

DPS

2000

Charley V. Wootan Director Emeritus, TTI College Station

2001

Mr. Larry J. Colclasure Waco District

2002

Bernie K. Dodd Athens

2003

Frances S. Willison, P.E. Houston

2004

Behrooz Badiozzamani, P.E. Pharr

2005

Clifford W. Halvorsen, P.E. Houston

2006

Julie Brown, P.E. San Antonio

2007

Duane L. Browning Beaumont

2008

Charles L. Conrad, P.E. Ft. Worth

2009

Anita N. Wilson FHWA Austin

2010

Elvia Gonzalez Environmental Division

2011

John Munoz Finance Division

2012

Cheryl Flood Lufkin District 2013

Terry McCoy Austin District

2014

Lance W. Simmons Atlanta District

2015

Norma Garza Pharr District 2016

Homer Bazan Pharr District

2017

Claude "Pat" Henry, P.E. Houston District

2018

Duane S. Milligan Dallas District 2019

Jennifer Wright Project Finance, Debt & Strategic Contracts

2020

Varuna Singh, P.E. Houston District

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH

Name of candidate:	Social Security Number:
Employed by D/D/O:	Location:
Present title (include functional title):	Title held since:
Initial employment with TxDOT (place and date):	First job description:
Degrees held/colleges attended:	
Total TxDOT time (plus military service time, if applicable):	
Advancement record (showing titles in each position):	
Civic organizations and offices held:	
Professional organization and offices held:	
Articles Published:	
Name of spouse: Name of children:	
Present address and phone number:	Date and place of birth:
Please add any information you choose (honors received, hobbies, etc.):	