DEWITT C. GREER AWARD

Before his death, John S. Redditt of Lufkin provided funds and an endowment to establish the Dewitt C. Greer Award for outstanding service to the people of the State of Texas in the Texas Department of Transportation. In accordance with Mr. Redditt's wishes, the Board of Directors of Texas A&M University assumed responsibility for holding the endowment in trust, making the final selection of the award winner and presenting the award at the annual TxDOT Transportation Conference or another appropriate occasion. The Texas Department of Transportation will assume the responsibility for making nominations of the persons from whom the award winner will be selected. The following procedures are established for the award and the selection of award winner.

- 1. This award was created as the Dewitt C. Greer Award. This award is to be granted for outstanding service to the State of Texas in the Texas Department of Transportation.
- 2. The award consists of \$1,000 in cash and an appropriate plaque.
- 3. The Award Selection Committee consists of three persons appointed by the President of Texas A&M University, one of whom shall be a member of the University staff and the others shall be two prominent citizens of Texas having no official connection with the Texas Department of Transportation or Texas A&M University. The President will designate the Chairman. Appointees will be continuous subject to the wishes of the individuals concerned and the University.
- 4. Subject to the availability of funds from the John S. Redditt Endowment, the award will be made either annually or semi-annually.
- 5. Those eligible for the award are engineers who are or have been employees of the Texas Department of Transportation for at least four years. The engineer receiving the award is to be actively engaged in any of the following types of engineering: (a) planning, (b) transportation, (c) design, (d) construction, (e) maintenance, (f) bridges, (g) materials and research, or (h) traffic. In the interest of recognizing and stimulating contributions made by those advancing in the ranks of engineering, the Executive Director and his principal staff assistants are not to be considered as candidates for the award.
- 6. From a list of candidates submitted by the District Engineers, Division Directors and Office Directors of the Texas Department of Transportation, the Executive Director shall, annually, select three nominees for each award to be presented. The names and citations of each nominee will be forwarded to the Award Selection Committee approximately three months prior to the date of the award. The Executive Director is not obligated to make nominations if, in his opinion, there are no eligible persons with significant contributions. In like manner, the Award Selection Committee is not obligated to select an award recipient if, in their opinion, a suitable candidate is not available.
- 7. The primary basis for selecting an award winner is the contribution that the individual has made to the development of highways and public transportation in Texas. "The Award Selection Committee has asked that recommendations of this award also include specific accomplishments which make the nominee truly outstanding. The nominations should include information describing specific achievements and how these are of significant benefit to the public or are clearly beyond the normal accomplishments of other employees."
- 8. The plaque will be designed and mutually agreed on by the Executive Director and the President of Texas A&M University. The name of the award winners will be displayed in the Highway Research Center of Texas A&M University.

TXDOT TRANSPORTATION CONFERENCE AWARDS

This award is presented annually at TxDOT Transportation Conference.

Dewitt C. GREER AWARD

Established Endowment in 1966 - Dewitt C. Greer

The recipient receives \$1,000 check and plaque

Administered by TTI through TAMU Fiscal Department

Nominations:

- Call for nominations distributed throughout the Department by State Executive Director
- ♦ Names of candidates submitted by District Engineers and Division Directors to the State Executive Director
- State Executive Director selects three nominees for each award
- ♦ Names of candidates sent from State Executive Director to Chairman of the Award Selection Committee

Criteria for nomination:

"Outstanding service to the State of Texas Highway Department" (contribution which the individual has made to the development of highways in Texas)

Eligible for nomination:

Highway Engineers who are, or have been employees of the Texas Department of Transportation for at least four years and is actively engaged in highway engineering

Recipients of TxDOT Transportation Conference DEWITT C. GREER AWARD

1967 1978 1990 William V. Ward Bobby R. Lindley Darrel G. Adams, P.E. Abilene 1968 1991 1979 Samuel G. Cox, Jr. Gary Trietsch, P.E. District 21 R.O. Henley 1992 Dallas 1969 Robert Magers 1980 **Bexar County** Robert H. Schleider John R. Dodson Bryan District **Bridge Division** 1993 1970 Joseph Raska Larry G. Walker 1981 MAT Herred M. Hood Austin Dallas 1994 1971 Mary Lou Ralls Louis E. Clarke 1982 **Design Division** Dallas, ROW Eng. James N. Moss **Dallas District** 1995 1972 Paul Krugler William B. Averyt 1983 **MAT** Austin, ROW Eng. Edwin J. Suchicki 1996 1973 1984 Terry Sams Oliver F. Stork Roger L. Merrell Dallas, Traffic Operations **Houston District Austin-Automation** 1997 1974 1985 Wallace Ewell R.L. Yielding Frank Y. Wadlington Ft. Worth District **Dallas District** Houston 1998 1975 1986 Rosa Trevino Roland E. Gamble Roberto S. Martinez Laredo District San Benito Austin 1999 1976 1987 Gabriel Y. Johnson Byron C. Blaschke James M. Huffman **Houston District** District 15 2000 1988 Allan N. Pritchard 1977 Harold D. Cooner Bryan District Kurn K. Moore Austin Austin, MAT 2001 1989

Elvin E. Rousseau

Joe B. Chappell, P.E.

Amarillo District

DEWITT C. GREER AWARD

-cont-

2002

Charles R. Tucker, P.E. Dallas District

2003

Bobbie G. Littlefield, Jr., P.E. Paris District

2004

Carol T. Rawson, P.E.

Austin

2005

Joe S. Graff Maintenance Division

2006

Robert Lewis Stuard Austin District

2007

Catherine W. Hejl, P.E. Bryan District

2008

Timothy J. Weight, P.E. Austin District

2009

Duane A Schwarz Waco District

2010

Herbert E. Bickley, P.E. Lufkin District

2011

John (Jack) H. Foster, P.E. Austin

2012

Dean Can Landuyt Bridge Division

2013

Michael W. Taylor, P.E. Amarillo District

2014

Randall C. (Randy) Redmond Strategic Projects Division

2015

Ricardo Gonzalez Ft. Worth District 2016

Eliza Paul Houston District

2017

Mohamed (Mo) K. Bur., P.E. Dallas District

2018

Theresa Poer, P.E. Ft. Worth District

2019

John DeWitt, P.E. San Angelo District

2020

Jessica Butler, P.E. Design Division

2021

John Hudspeth, P.E. Dallas District

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH

Name of candidate:	Social Security Number: (IRS requirement)
Employed by D/D/O:	Location:
Present title (include functional title):	Title held since:
Initial employment with TxDOT (place and date):	First job description:
Degrees held/colleges attended:	
Total TxDOT time (plus military service time, if applicable):	
Advancement record (showing titles in each position):	
Civic organizations and offices held:	
Professional organization and offices held:	
Articles Published:	
Name of spouse: Name of children:	
Present address and phone number:	Date and place of birth:
Please add any information you choose (honors received, hobbies, etc.):	