RUSSELL H. PERRY AWARD

The Russell H. Perry Award has been established to recognize individual citizens for leadership in gaining public awareness of the need for and benefits of adequate highway and transportation facilities in the State of Texas.

The award is sponsored jointly by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, member of the Texas A&M University System, the Texas Department of Transportation and the Texas Good Roads/ Transportation Association.

The award is named for the late Russell H. Perry, who exemplified the qualities the award will recognize.

The following procedures are established for the award and the selection of award winners:

- 1. The award was created to be known as the Russell H. Perry Award. The award is to recognize individual citizens for leadership in gaining public awareness of the need for and benefits of adequate highway and transportation facilities in the State of Texas.
- 2. The award consists of an appropriate plaque selected by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The cost of the award will be paid by the Texas Transportation Foundation.
- 3. The Award Selection Committee will consist of three persons appointed by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, no more than one of whom shall be a member of the University System staff with the other two being prominent citizens of Texas having no official connection with a transportation agency of the State of Texas or the Texas A&M University System. The Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute will designate the chairman.

Appointments will be continuous subject to the wishes of the individuals concerned and the Institute.

4. The award will be made annually at the TxDOT Transportation Short Course unless, in the future, the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, with concurrence of the other sponsors, determines another occasion to be more suitable.

Russell H. Perry Award (continued)

- 5. The first Russell H. Perry Award was presented in 1989. Award recipients will be selected from nominees submitted by transportation agencies in the State of Texas including the Texas Department of Transportation, the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the Center for Transportation Research at the University of Texas at Austin, the Texas Railroad Commission and the Texas Department of Public Safety. Employees of these agencies are not eligible to receive the award. It is the intent of the sponsors that individuals qualified for consideration for the Gibb Gilchrist, Dewitt C. Greer and Luther DeBerry Awards not be considered as recipients of the Russell H. Perry Award. The Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute shall, approximately six months in advance, advise the appropriate agencies of the procedure for making nominations.
- 6. Beginning in 1989, the executive head of each State transportation agency may submit one nominee for the award each year. The name and citation of each nominee shall be forwarded to the Award Selection Committee by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute approximately three months prior to the date of the award. Executive heads of transportation agencies are not obligated to make nominations if, in their opinions, there are no eligible or deserving persons. In like manner, the Award Selection Committee is not obligated to select an Award recipient if, in their opinion, a suitable candidate is not available.
- 7. The primary basis for selection of award recipients is leadership in gaining public awareness of the need for and benefits of adequate highway and transportation facilities in the State of Texas.

TxDOT TRANSPORTATION SHORT COURSE AWARDS

These awards are presented annually at TxDOT Transportation Short Course.

RUSSELL H. PERRY AWARD

Established in 1988 Recipient receives plaque Administered by TTI (TAMU System) through TTI Business Office Carries Signatures of Award Committee Chairman and Director, TTI

Nominations

Call for nominations distributed by Director, TTI to all transportation related agencies in the State of Texas to include:

Texas Department of Transportation, The Texas A&M Transportation Institute, Center for Transportation Research - University of Texas, Transportation Division - Texas Railroad Commission and Texas Department of Public Safety

Names of candidates are sent from Director of TTI to Award Selection Committee.

Criteria for nomination:

"Leadership in gaining public awareness of the need for and benefits of adequate highway and transportation facilities in the State of Texas"

Eligible for Nomination:

Employees of TxDOT are <u>not</u> **eligible for the Russell Perry Award.** The intent is to honor private citizens that have made significant contribution to the field of transportation.

Recipients of TxDOT Transportation Short Course

RUSSELL H. PERRY AWARD (First Award Presented in 1989)

1989

Robert C. Lanier Houston

1990

David W. Glass Owner, David Glass Motors Paris

1991

Heywood C. Clemons Clemons Tractor Company Fort Worth

1992 Senator John Traeger Seguin

1993 Ray Stoker, Jr. Odessa

1994 Dick Harris Amarillo, TX

1995 Senator David Cain Dallas, TX

1996 Dave H. Abernathy Mayor, Pittsburg, TX

1997 Landon Alford

1998 Tom V

Tom Vandergriff Tarrant County Commissioners' Court Judge

1999

Judge Lee Jackson Dallas County

2000

Louis A. Bronaugh Mayor, Lufkin, TX

2001

Bill Summers CEO/President Rio Grande Valley International Partnership

2002 Charles R. Perry Chairman of the Board Avion Flight Centre

2003 Audrey Daniels Kariel Former Mayor of Marshall

2004 John P. Thompson County Judge, Polk County

2005

Thomas Kornegay, P.E. P.P.M Executive Director Port of Houston Authority

2006 Robert L. Nichols Texas State Senator E*lect*, District 3 Jacksonville, Texas

2007

Thomas L. Johnson, Jr. Executive Vice President of the Associated General Contractors of Texas

2008 John R. Butler, Jr. Chairman, J. R. Butler and Company, Houston, TX

2009

Nelson William Wolff Bexar County Judge San Antonio, TX

2010

Stan Schlueter Legislative Consultant Austin, TX

2011

Ed Emmett Harris County Judge Houston, TX

2012 Judy Hawley

Commissioner, Port of Corpus Christi Authority

2013 The Hon. B. Glen Whitley Judge, Tarrant County

2014 John Willard Johnson Johnson & Lindley, Inc.

2015 Lawrence Olsen, Ret. Vice President, Texas Good Roads

2016 Hope Andrade Via Board of Trustees

2017

Judge Samuel L. Neal (Lloyd Neal) Nueces County, TX

2018

U.S. Senator John Cornyn of Texas

2019

Gerry Schwebel International Bank of Commerce

2020

Joseph C. "Joe" Pickett State Representative (Retired)

2021

C. Michael Walton University of Texas at Austin (Emeritus)

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH