RAYMOND E. STOTZER, JR. AWARD

Mr. Robert C. Lanier of Houston, Texas, has provided funds for an endowment to establish the Raymond E. Stotzer, Jr. Award. This Award will be made to an employee of the department who is **not** a professional engineer, in recognition of outstanding leadership, dedication and service to the Texas Department of Transportation. In accordance with Mr. Lanier's wishes, the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, a part of the Texas A&M University System, has assumed responsibility for holding the endowment in trust, making the final selection of Award winners and presenting the awards at the Annual TxDOT Transportation Conference or another appropriate occasion.

The following procedures are established for the award and the selection of award winners:

- 1. The award was created and is known as the Raymond E. Stotzer, Jr., Award. The award is to be granted for outstanding leadership, dedication and service to the Texas Department of Transportation.
- 2. To be eligible for the award, an individual must have been an employee of the department for at least four years and must **not** be a registered professional engineer.
- 3. The award will consist of \$1,000 in cash and an appropriate plaque.
- 4. The Award Selection Committee will consist of three persons appointed by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, no more than one of whom shall be a member of the University System staff with the other two being prominent citizens of Texas, having no official connection with a transportation agency of the State of Texas or the Texas A&M University System. The Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute will designate the Chairman.

Appointments will be continuous, subject to the wishes of the individuals concerned and the Institute.

- 5. Subject to the availability of funds from the Robert C. Lanier endowment, the award will be made annually at the TxDOT Transportation Conference unless, in the future, the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute determines another occasion to be more suitable.
- 6. The Executive Director of the Texas Department of Transportation shall submit three nominations for the Award each year. The names, citations and a picture of each nominee shall be forwarded to the Award Selection Committee by the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute approximately three months prior to the date of the Award. The Executive Director of the Texas Department of Transportation is not obligated to make nominations, if in his opinion, there are no eligible persons with significant contributions. In like manner, the Award Selection Committee is not obligated to select an award recipient if, in their opinion, a suitable candidate is not available.

7. The design of the plaque will be mutually agreed on by Mr. Lanier and the Director of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The names of the award winners will be displayed in the Texas A&M Transportation Institute at College Station, Texas.

TxDOT TRANSPORTATION CONFERENCE AWARDS

These awards are presented annually at the TxDOT Transportation Conference.

RAYMOND STOTZER, JR. AWARD

Established in 1990

Recipient receives a check for \$1,000 and a plaque

Administered by TTI (TAMU System) through TTI Business Office

Carries signatures of Award Committee Chairman and TAMUS Chancellor

Nominations:

- Call for nominations initiated by Director, TTI, to the Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation. The Executive Director distributes calls for nominations to District Engineers, Division Directors and Office Directors of the department. Nominations come only from the Texas Department of Transportation.
- Executive Director will submit three nominees for the Award each year.
- Names of candidates are to be sent to the Director of TTI, who will submit nominations to the award Selection Committee.

Criteria for Nomination:

"Outstanding leadership, dedication and service to the Texas Department of Transportation"

Eligible for Nomination:

Employees of the department who are **<u>NOT</u>** professional engineers

Recipients of TxDOT Transportation Conference RAYMOND E. STOTZER, JR. AWARD

(First Award Presented in 1990)

1990

Alfred R. Castello Administration, D-41 Austin

1991

Linda S. Beene Division of Human Resources D-13, Austin

1992

William Presson Wichita Falls District District 3

1993

Bert Lundell Central Permit Office D-18, Austin

1994

Geoff Appold Travel and Information Division, D-16

1995

Jerry Dike Vehicle Titles and Registration Division

1996 Paul Northcutt

Construction and Maintenance Division

1997 Ed Shaddock General Counsel

1998 Karon Wiedemann Aviation Division

1999

Ann Irwin Environmental Affairs Division (57)

2000 Manuel Saldana Laredo District (22)

2001 Linda K. Olson Design Division

2002

James W. (Jim) Daily Maintenance Division

2003 Barrie D. Cogburn Design Division

2004

Carl B. Bertrand, Jr. Materials and Pavements Section

2005 Robert W. Jackson Office of General Counsel

2006 Janelle H. Gbur Houston District

2007 Jerral Wyer Occupational Safety Division

2008 John Scott Alley Maintenance Division

2009 Anthony (Tony) Frank Parlamas Corpus Christi District

2010 Dana Cote Houston District

2011 Russell Luther Amarillo District

2012 Terry Pence Traffic Operations Division

2013 Bobby Wells Bryan Division

2014 Brandye Munn Maintenance Operations

2015 John J. Ingram, Jr. Office of General Counsel

2016 Gilbert Jordan Maintenance Division

2017 Dennis Markwardt Maintenance Division

2018 Timothy Lee (Tim) Powers Dallas Division

2019 Raquelle Lewis Communications Division **2020** Charon Williams Right of Way Division

2021 Rhonda Branecky Support Services Division

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH

Name of candidate:	Social Security Number: (required by IRS regulation)
Employed by D/D/O:	Location:
Present title (include functional title):	Title held since:
Initial employment with TxDOT (place and date):	First job description:
Degrees held/colleges attended:	
Total TxDOT time (plus military service time, if applicable):	
Advancement record (showing titles in each position):	
Civic organizations and offices held:	
Professional organization and offices held:	
Articles Published:	
Name of spouse: Name of children:	
Present address and phone number:	Date and place of birth:
Please add any information you choose (honors received, hobbies, etc.):	